survivingmiddleage

the ups and downs of life

Mi Vida Freakin Loca

English: Shelter and piles of leaves, Batterse...

The other day I wasn’t feeling well. I had a doctor’s appointment. I had just taken a shower and was drying off and the phone rang. I had missed work the night before with illness and I had a feeling it was work calling to see if I was coming in that night. If I don’t answer their calls quickly, they will call again. And again. And again. It’s easier to just answer and deal with it.

But I couldn’t find the phone and I was still drying, which meant I was without clothing, just my soggy towel. I ran downstairs and found the missing phone and sat down to make the obligatory call to work and told them I assumed if I wasn’t dead that yes, I would be there that night. I told them I had to go because I was getting ready for the doctor’s appointment I had.

Well, about that time more chaos ensues in my house. Now remember, I am still sitting there with my soggy towel. All of a sudden I hear what I call Leaf Blower Man outside. He is very close. Like right outside my damned window close! My cat loves to check Leaf Blower Man out to see what craziness he is up to daily. Turns out he was on my back patio blowing damned leaves like a damned tornado AT my sliding glass door. This creates a frenzy for my neurotic cat. She then tries to attack the leaves through the glass. She almost gave herself a damned concussion because she popped the door so hard. And she did it more than once. I don’t know if he was doing it as a game or if he was totally freaking oblivious. All I know is she is jumping around like a Mexican jumping bean and the blinds are swinging at a precarious and frenetic rate and I’m sitting there in only a  soggy towel. It wasn’t a pretty site and my anxiety level was through the roof. What if she knocked the blinds down? OMG this was embarrassment waiting to happen!

I sat there praying God would either make her realize hitting the glass wasn’t working, knock her out, or she would become bored with the whole leaf game. The latter happened. She got bored!  The blinds quit swinging. The Leaf Blower Man finally stopped. And I was able to get dressed! It’s a wonder my blood pressure wasn’t through the roof when I went to the doctor but it was fine. And this is mi vida freakin loca!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Mi Vida Freakin Loca

  1. Sounds like you’re living at my house!! This weekend was my last weekend off until after Christmas and what do you know? They called me from work on four separate occasions for things I’d already talked to them about (or had left notes about). The neighbors go crazy in the front yard, making entirely too much noise as I’m trying to get in some extra NaNo writing, and then I get a phone call from a Romney supporter wanting to make sure I’m going to vote for her guy on Tuesday…hahahahaha!! At least we’re not bored!!

    • I know. It’s like, “Can I get a break?!” And then I am held hostage while nekkid by my neurotic cat and Leaf Blower Man! Maybe Leaf Blower Man needs to get his own neurotic cat? Next time they have a gimmick at the shelter, I may print it out and post it near the mailboxes for him. He does seem to like to play with my cat so much.

Please leave me a message!

Reflections

Inspiring people to live the life God intended them to live.

Fred's Food For Thought

Eat Well, Live Well

Our Little Family Adventure

Our family's adventure to eat healthy whole foods, get in the kitchen together, and enjoy life.

Hip2Save

Not Your Grandma's Coupon Site

notquiteold

Nancy Roman

The Byronic Man

We can rebuild him. We have the technology... Drier. Hilariouser. More satirical than before.

Creating J.Lyn

Be happy. Be you.

Bites of Life

Turning Spectators of Life into Players of Life!!

kathy rasmussen

the only way to do great work is to love what you do

Someone Like Me...

Stronger and Stronger, Day after Day...

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

On the Homefront

Reflections on life: the funny, poignant, serious and quirky

Successify!

Create a Life That Matters!

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

needlesspounds

One man's weight loss journey

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

milkandbreadreport

Just another WordPress.com site

