survivingmiddleage

the ups and downs of life

How Easy It Is To Judge

It’s so easy to judge other people’s actions or reactions to situations. Whether it is the person you work with, your relatives, or political leaders, we judge. And we do it all the time and usually quite vocally. I’m not ashamed to say I do it. I probably shouldn’t do it but I do. I am human. That’s what we do oh so well. Judge. Criticize.

When we do judge other people, though, we need to realize that other people are doing the same thing to us. How do you like that? Not so comfortable is it? People in glass houses shouldn’t throw rocks or run around naked. You can break your house or be totally exposed.

Why am I writing this? I have read opinions about what the President should have said or done about the situation in Libya. I have to say my heart is breaking. It reminds me of September 11, 2001. I remember when people raised hell about when President Bush was told in that classroom of kindergarteners about the attack and how he sat there. I remember thinking that even though I didn’t agree with a lot of his politics that he handled that moment so gracefully. He had gotten the word that something so horrific had happened and yet he maintained his composure to keep those kids calm. That was presidential to me. He didn’t fly off the handle in that moment and just act on a whim.

I believe when we act on whims that we are asking for trouble. Clear thinking is always the best course of action. Shooting off your mouth in anger is not. You may be madder than hell and hurt, but in a situation where you have other people’s’ lives at risk you don’t just spout off whatever words you feel at the moment. You have to be diplomatic and behave in such a way. It may not be a popular stance, but it is what has to be done at the moment. You have to think before you act. Otherwise you risk the lives of many more.

I wish other people would think about that and quit just having a knee-jerk response. It’s easy to play Monday-morning quarterback after the Sunday football games. It’s a lot harder to be the quarterback during the Sunday games. I know I joke about being president, but honestly I wouldn’t want to be when it comes to this type of situation or have the decisions he is facing now. He is in a damned-if-you-do-damned-if-you-don’t situation.

My thoughts and prayers go out to the families who lost family members. I have lost loved ones and can’t imagine losing anyone in that way. Devastation can’t even cover it. I am praying for the President and his advisors. I know this is not an easy time and that the upcoming decisions are not easy. I just pray they make the best ones for our country. I pray for the citizens of my country and for Libya.

Single Post Navigation

Please leave me a message!

Reflections

Inspiring people to live the life God intended them to live.

Fred's Food For Thought

Eat Well, Live Well

Our Little Family Adventure

Our family's adventure to eat healthy whole foods, get in the kitchen together, and enjoy life.

Hip2Save

Not Your Grandma's Coupon Site

notquiteold

Nancy Roman

The Byronic Man

We can rebuild him. We have the technology... Drier. Hilariouser. More satirical than before.

Creating J.Lyn

Be happy. Be you.

Bites of Life

Turning Spectators of Life into Players of Life!!

kathy rasmussen

the only way to do great work is to love what you do

Someone Like Me...

Better and Better, Day after Day...

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

On the Homefront

Reflections on life: the funny, poignant, serious and quirky

Successify!

Create a Life That Matters!

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

needlesspounds

One man's weight loss journey

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

milkandbreadreport

Just another WordPress.com site

