survivingmiddleage

the ups and downs of life

Nervy People

So the other day I was talking to someone and this person says to me, “Oh by the way, you know how you told me THIS? Well, when I did it, it was super easy! I don’t know why you said it was difficult.” I was kind of taken aback. This person is an acquaintance that I really don’t like to talk to, but have to from time to time. She often makes these comments. Most days I can just blow it off. I did need to relay more information to her that day, but instead I smiled that nice fake smile and said very tersely, “Have a good day!” I really didn’t mean it. I just needed to get away from her before I said something very ugly.

So here is my question: WTF?!?! Why is it that some people want to put people down constantly? (BTW, I know dang well that she can’t figure things out any better than me so she isn’t so brilliant. I truly do not consider her to be more intelligent than I am and don’t care if she is. Her life is hers. Mine is mine.) And she does need me from time to time. So why would someone do something like that? I would never go out of my way to talk down to someone without provocation.

Do y’all have people that do this to you? If so, what do you do? Do you just call them out? Do you walk away? WHAT DO YOU DO?

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Nervy People

  1. Normally I would use sarcasm, “Oh well, Julie, you are obviously way smarter than I am !” Recently I have launched a new real estate career (I am 56). I have only been doing this for 2 months, and already I’ve had two people ask me “Have you sold a house yet?” I have responded that I have not, that this business takes time, but my broker says I am doing all the right things to build a foundation for success. I can’t believe people are so nervy to ask this (which is why your post came up when I googled how to handle nervy people). I would LOVE to have a better response. I don’t want to alienate anyone as everyone I know is a potential customer, but I would like a response that leaves me feeling more satisfied. Maybe I should use my usual sarcasm “Oh I am already making millions!” lol

    • Donna, how about something like, “Thank you for asking! I have several things in the works. Are you interested in something in particular?” That way you let them know you’ve got your crap together and then put them on the spot and let them squirm. If they say something like they aren’t really in the market, throw a good ol’ Southern “With this economy I do understand. Bless your heart!” Make them feel bad for being such an ass to begin with.

Please leave me a message!

Reflections

Inspiring people to live the life God intended them to live.

Fred's Food For Thought

Eat Well, Live Well

Our Little Family Adventure

Our family's adventure to eat healthy whole foods, get in the kitchen together, and enjoy life.

Hip2Save

Not Your Grandma's Coupon Site

notquiteold

Nancy Roman

The Byronic Man

We can rebuild him. We have the technology... Drier. Hilariouser. More satirical than before.

Creating J.Lyn

Be happy. Be you.

Bites of Life

Turning Spectators of Life into Players of Life!!

kathy rasmussen

the only way to do great work is to love what you do

Someone Like Me...

Better and Better, Day after Day...

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

On the Homefront

Reflections on life: the funny, poignant, serious and quirky

Successify!

Create a Life That Matters!

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

needlesspounds

One man's weight loss journey

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

milkandbreadreport

Just another WordPress.com site

