survivingmiddleage

the ups and downs of life

Watching a Relationship Trainwreck

English: Broken Heart symbol

English: Broken Heart symbol (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Have you ever seen something happening but had no way of stopping it? I have. It’s an unsettling and upsetting feeling. You wish you could have done something yet you couldn’t. I was thinking about this feeling as I have been watching the demise of relationships via Facebook. (Yes, Facebook again.) I know when mine was falling apart last year people could probably see it coming through my musical posts. I didn’t necessarily say what was happening, but sometimes I would post music videos that suited my mood. I have noticed the musical posts of friends lately. Then I noticed their relationship status changes. It is so revealing. It is also heartbreaking. You watch this and there is nothing you can do but watch it unfold. It is so sad to watch these lives disintegrate before you. Thankfully not everyone puts all their drama out there and they don’t tell everything that has happened. But it just makes me hurt for them. Some of these people have been married almost 20 years. It does make me sit back and just shake my head. I don’t have the right to ask questions but I do care about them. I hurt for them.

Have you ever seen this? It is like watching a trainwreck. You wish so much you could stop it and  yet there is nothing you can do.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Watching a Relationship Trainwreck

  1. Hi Amy – Yes, I’ve seen it, too, and I’ve done it, too. So very sad.

    My husband and I have been married for almost 30 years. We have been through thick and thin together. We’ve suffered together and been there for each other. How did this happen? It feels like I never knew him at all.

    DJ

    • I guess a lot of times people allow us to only know pieces of them. I was thinking of that recently. I saw my ex the other day. Thankfully I didn’t have to speak. But it made me ask myself if I ever knew him. I really don’t know if I did.

Please leave me a message!

Reflections

Inspiring people to live the life God intended them to live.

Fred's Food For Thought

Eat Well, Live Well

Our Little Family Adventure

Our family's adventure to eat healthy whole foods, get in the kitchen together, and enjoy life.

Hip2Save

Not Your Grandma's Coupon Site

notquiteold

Nancy Roman

The Byronic Man

We can rebuild him. We have the technology... Drier. Hilariouser. More satirical than before.

Creating J.Lyn

Be happy. Be you.

Bites of Life

Turning Spectators of Life into Players of Life!!

kathy rasmussen

the only way to do great work is to love what you do

Someone Like Me...

Stronger and Stronger, Day after Day...

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

On the Homefront

Reflections on life: the funny, poignant, serious and quirky

Successify!

Create a Life That Matters!

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

needlesspounds

One man's weight loss journey

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

milkandbreadreport

Just another WordPress.com site

