survivingmiddleage

the ups and downs of life

What’s Wrong With Being A Brunette?

So I’m browsing one of my way too many magazines the other day and see an ad that offends me. It’s a L’oreal ad touting their hair color for blondes. So what makes a blonde so freaking special? Why act like everyone wants to be blonde? I’m not knocking blondes, but I don’t wanna be blonde. I just think it is ridiculous to act like one hair color is better than another. Sorry, but blondes are really not better than brunettes and vice versa.

The ad shows all these famous blondes, who were obviously brunettes previously. I color my hair. Why? To cover my gray. Not to stop being a brunette. And there is nothing wrong with gray hair either. If mine looked right, I’d let it go gray. But it isn’t quite right. It’s not gray enough to go gray yet. So I’m coloring it back to something semi-natural for me until it gets to a decent looking gray.

I just don’t get the whole idea that blondes are better. I am sure most of us have heard the phrases before such as “blondes have more fun” and such. There was even a movie called “Gentlemen Prefer Blondes”. I dunno. Not sure I really agree with this. Then again, I’m single now.

Just a thought…

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “What’s Wrong With Being A Brunette?

  1. Yep, I color my hair to cover the grey…but I color mine red…did the blonde thing many years ago, doesn’t look right on me…and when/if my grey ever looks good, I’ll gladly stop coloring…

    • I’m definitely not blonde material. Wouldn’t look right with my almost olive complexion. I’m a brunette and not ashamed of it. 🙂

  2. I’m really fair skinned, but just didn’t think blonde was me…red, on the other hand, oh yeah!

    • I have a little auburn hint to my hair and that works. I think all hair colors are beautiful. I just thought it was a little wrong for a magazine ad to basically say one was better than another.

  3. I know, like girls and women don’t feel bad enough about how we look, right?

Please leave me a message!

Reflections

Inspiring people to live the life God intended them to live.

Fred's Food For Thought

Eat Well, Live Well

Our Little Family Adventure

Our family's adventure to eat healthy whole foods, get in the kitchen together, and enjoy life.

Hip2Save

Not Your Grandma's Coupon Site

notquiteold

Nancy Roman

The Byronic Man

We can rebuild him. We have the technology... Drier. Hilariouser. More satirical than before.

Creating J.Lyn

Be happy. Be you.

Bites of Life

Balanced Living, Naturally

kathy rasmussen

the only way to do great work is to love what you do

Someone Like Me...

Better and Better, Day after Day...

On the Homefront

Reflections on life: the funny, poignant, serious and quirky

Successify!

Create a Life That Matters!

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

needlesspounds

One man's weight loss journey

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

milkandbreadreport

Just another WordPress.com site

