survivingmiddleage

the ups and downs of life

Beauty In Pessimism

I am so grateful 2011 is almost over. This has been one of the WORST years of my life. It rates right up there with my mother dying and my divorce.

I went into 2011 with the shiny, happy hope that most do. Actually, I thought 2011 was going to be THE year! As I come close to the end I feel as if I have been run over by a semi and just for good measure they threw it in reverse. 2011, you sucked!

Now just because 2011 was rough that doesn’t mean I am anticipating sweetness and light for 2012. Nope. Learned my lesson on that.  Murphy’s Law will get ya every time. No, I am going into 2012 with no expectations and as few hopes possible. Yes, it sounds pessimistic but it is just realistic and accepting. I don’t expect anything so I am not disappointed. But I sure can be happily surprised. See? Beauty in pessimism! Genius? Possibly.

See? 2012 is all about acceptance and learning and just getting through life without collecting many more battle scars! I have enough of those for myself and a few other people. I have decided to try a no expectations approach rather than a great expectations approach. It really simplifies the whole thing when you think about it. Without worrying and stressing about what the outcome of something is then you can just “be” in the moment. Now that’s a concept, huh? Again, there is beauty in pessimism!

Single Post Navigation

Please leave me a message!

Reflections

Inspiring people to live the life God intended them to live.

Fred's Food For Thought

Eat Well, Live Well

Our Little Family Adventure

Our family's adventure to eat healthy whole foods, get in the kitchen together, and enjoy life.

Hip2Save

Not Your Grandma's Coupon Site

notquiteold

Nancy Roman

The Byronic Man

We can rebuild him. We have the technology... Drier. Hilariouser. More satirical than before.

Creating J.Lyn

Be happy. Be you.

Bites of Life

Balanced Living, Naturally

kathy rasmussen

the only way to do great work is to love what you do

Someone Like Me...

Better and Better, Day after Day...

On the Homefront

Reflections on life: the funny, poignant, serious and quirky

Successify!

Create a Life That Matters!

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

needlesspounds

One man's weight loss journey

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

milkandbreadreport

Just another WordPress.com site

