survivingmiddleage

the ups and downs of life

Another Awkward Moment

Living in a small town affords many awkward moments. You just get used to them. They’re inevitable. Especially if you have lived there over 5 years. I have lived in Asheville for 14 years. That makes for many awkward moments. You get to know and like, dislike, and/or alienate many people during that time. Today was an awkward moment day.

I’ve been up MANY hours working on homework and I needed my prescriptions. I’m in my pajamas and decided to go to the pharmacy anyway. They have a drive-thru so I figured it would be no big deal. Well, it was. I pull up and just give them my name and card and expect to be handed my meds and then I would drive home. No. I couldn’t get off the hook quite so easily. At the window is an ex’s sister. I just thought, “Oh dear Lord! Why today?” He and I aren’t enemies but it is still awkward. I really don’t want his sister knowing my business, my prescriptions, etc. Ya know? So here’s how it went down.

Girl at Window: “Hey! Don’t you remember me?!”

Me: “Of course I do! How are you?”

Girl at Window: “I’m good! How are you?”

Me (praying this idle chit-chat would end soon): “Great! Been up all night writing a paper for school.”

Girl at Window: “Awww…You must be so tired. I just started working here a couple of months! It’s so great to see you. Have you talked to So-And-So?”

Me: “Yeah. I talked to him a few weeks ago. Well, it was great to see you, but I have to finish that paper and get some rest. I’ll see ya later!”

I drove home and immediately took something to help me go to sleep. I’m waiting on it to kick in now. I’m still shaking my head. Another awkward Amy moment.

 

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Another Awkward Moment

  1. I hate it when that happens. I ran into my ex at WalMart, of all places…you know, you have to go thru the chit chat, “How’ve you been? You look good…blah, blah, blah…”, when all you want to do is get out of there. At least you didn’t have to get out of the car…that’s where I thought you were going with your story…

  2. I was just so caught off guard. No…I refused to get out of my car. And now I know to wait til evening to pick up meds. lol

  3. of course that’ll be the one day she gets scheduled to work evenings…

  4. you are probably right! maybe i will just not go in my jammies next time.

  5. hmm…but then are you giving her the power to determine whether or not you’ll dress comfortably? why does life have to be so difficult?

  6. actually, i’d rather just not see her at all. but i am not giving up my cvs, soooo….

Please leave me a message!

Reflections

Inspiring people to live the life God intended them to live.

Fred's Food For Thought

Eat Well, Live Well

Our Little Family Adventure

Our family's adventure to eat healthy whole foods, get in the kitchen together, and enjoy life.

Hip2Save

Not Your Grandma's Coupon Site

notquiteold

Nancy Roman

The Byronic Man

We can rebuild him. We have the technology... Drier. Hilariouser. More satirical than before.

Creating J.Lyn

Be happy. Be you.

Bites of Life

Turning Spectators of Life into Players of Life!!

kathy rasmussen

the only way to do great work is to love what you do

Someone Like Me...

Stronger and Stronger, Day after Day...

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

On the Homefront

Reflections on life: the funny, poignant, serious and quirky

Successify!

Create a Life That Matters!

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

needlesspounds

One man's weight loss journey

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

milkandbreadreport

Just another WordPress.com site

