survivingmiddleage

the ups and downs of life

Profundity At Its Best

I know I usually complain about Facebook  but sometimes there are some really good things there. Today I saw a great saying on one of my friend’s wall that just made me stop for a moment and say, “Wow!” It was so simple yet so complex.

“People are often unreasonable and self-centered. Forgive them anyway.
If you are kind, people may accuse you of ulterior motives. Be kind anyway.
If you are honest, people may cheat you. Be honest anyway.
If you find happiness, people may be jealous. Be happy anyway.
The good you do today may be forgotten tomorrow. Do good anyway.
Give the world the best you have and it may never be enough. Give your best anyway.
For you see, in the end, it is between you and God. It was never between you and them anyway……”

How simple is that message? How hard is it to do? Yet I think it is something I want to really strive for. Just because someone may do me wrong or may have negative feelings towards me, that doesn’t mean that I have to let it affect me. Whatever the situation, I can only control how I act or react. I can’t change the way someone else acts or feels. It doesn’t mean that I don’t care about that other person. It just means that I can only take responsibility for myself. I think this is hard for a lot of women. We were brought up to be caregivers and sometimes has been at our own expense.

Basically everything isn’t about me but some things are. Yes, that is contradictory. But what I have to do is determine what is good and right for me and do that. If someone else has issues then I have to just  learn to let go and let God. Not easy. It’s a process.

Single Post Navigation

Please leave me a message!

Reflections

Inspiring people to live the life God intended them to live.

Fred's Food For Thought

Eat Well, Live Well

Our Little Family Adventure

Our family's adventure to eat healthy whole foods, get in the kitchen together, and enjoy life.

Hip2Save

Not Your Grandma's Coupon Site

notquiteold

Nancy Roman

The Byronic Man

We can rebuild him. We have the technology... Drier. Hilariouser. More satirical than before.

Creating J.Lyn

Be happy. Be you.

Bites of Life

Balanced Living, Naturally

kathy rasmussen

the only way to do great work is to love what you do

Someone Like Me...

Better and Better, Day after Day...

On the Homefront

Reflections on life: the funny, poignant, serious and quirky

Successify!

Create a Life That Matters!

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

needlesspounds

One man's weight loss journey

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

milkandbreadreport

Just another WordPress.com site

