survivingmiddleage

the ups and downs of life

Emotional Baggage Check

Wouldn’t it be nice to just check your emotional baggage somewhere and never have to bother with it again? Just fill a suitcase with unpleasant memories and experiences and zip it up and roll it to some abyss and leave it! Hasta la vista, baby! Oh if life were that simple. You know it isn’t. But right now you’re thinking what a wonderful thing that would be, right? Come on! You can tell me. It’ll be our secret. Since only a few people read here it’s not that big of a deal.

Seriously though, I was having a conversation recently and we talked about how life can make us jaded and cynical. It can. If you have lived past the age of 18, you have probably experienced something or someone who has just not been pleasant. I know that I am well over 18 (as Facebook told me the other day when it called me old!) and I have quite a large emotional suitcase. I hate that stupid thing! It doesn’t rule my whole life but it does make me wary. Maybe that is good. Maybe that is bad. I try to trust people from the get-go, but honestly if someone sounds a little too good, I generally think they are. Goody two shoes? Yeah, what skeletons are you pulling along in your emotional suitcase? We all got ’em, honey! I just choose to acknowledge it.

And that is another issue right there. I may be somewhat jaded but at least I know this and am forthright with it. It’s not a big secret. And maybe that is another problem in and of itself. Maybe I should put on a poker face and pretend like the rest of the world. But that is just a little too fake and Pollyanna for me (see my post about her and you’ll know what I am talking about).

Anyway, the gist of it is that it sure would be a lot easier to not have to deal with all the junk we do throughout life. It would be nice to pack it away and send it to the emotional baggage abyss. But unfortunately we can’t. So what to do? I think the best answer is to open that stupid thing up from time to time and pull some of the crap out and say it’s not worth carrying around anymore and it’s too heavy and just toss it or burn it or whatever. Get rid of it. It’s a lot easier said than done. Believe me. I really do know. I have had my life turned upside down more times than I ever have wanted and there has been a lot of emotional crap to come from that. But I am tired of this stupid baggage being so heavy. I have to carry the load daily by myself mostly and it’s just not worth it.

Single Post Navigation

Please leave me a message!

Reflections

Inspiring people to live the life God intended them to live.

Fred's Food For Thought

Eat Well, Live Well

Our Little Family Adventure

Our family's adventure to eat healthy whole foods, get in the kitchen together, and enjoy life.

Hip2Save

Not Your Grandma's Coupon Site

notquiteold

Nancy Roman

The Byronic Man

We can rebuild him. We have the technology... Drier. Hilariouser. More satirical than before.

Creating J.Lyn

Be happy. Be you.

Bites of Life

Turning Spectators of Life into Players of Life!!

kathy rasmussen

the only way to do great work is to love what you do

Someone Like Me...

Better and Better, Day after Day...

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

On the Homefront

Reflections on life: the funny, poignant, serious and quirky

Successify!

Create a Life That Matters!

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

needlesspounds

One man's weight loss journey

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

milkandbreadreport

Just another WordPress.com site

