survivingmiddleage

the ups and downs of life

Free My Soul

There are times when there are no words that can really express what I want to say yet music can. I know it has words and those words can say it when if I tried to speak them it just wouldn’t sound right. And there are also times when if I am in great pain that I can’t bear to hear music. There’s so much pain within me that the last thing I can handle is hearing anything that is beautiful. I think music is sometimes a double-edged sword for me. I love it so deeply, yet it can hurt. But music does free my soul. It reminds me of the Doobie Brothers song. Sometimes I just wanna get lost in the rock and roll and drift away.

But I have to be in certain moods for certain music. For the past 6 months I have had the hardest time listening to James Taylor. He is my favorite musician so it seems I would want to listen to him. No. His songs remind me of love and happiness and I didn’t want to be reminded of that. So I had to find different music. I had a hard time with most music because it was all about love. And that really was not what I wanted to hear. Then a friend turned me on to Jaron and the Long Road to Love. I know. There’s the “L” word again. But there is this funny song he does about heartache that makes me laugh every time I hear it. It’s called “Pray for You.” Here, listen to it and watch the video. Both are great!

How great is that? So that kinda made me feel better. It said what I wanted to say.

Anyway, I can finally listen to James Taylor again and all kinds of other music. I love it so much. It makes me smile. It brings up memories. It makes new ones. It expresses how I feel. Music is one of the most beautiful and amazing artistic expressions because it is something most people enjoy and it touches us all in some way.

Single Post Navigation

Please leave me a message!

Reflections

Inspiring people to live the life God intended them to live.

Fred's Food For Thought

Eat Well, Live Well

Our Little Family Adventure

Our family's adventure to eat healthy whole foods, get in the kitchen together, and enjoy life.

Hip2Save

Not Your Grandma's Coupon Site

notquiteold

Nancy Roman

The Byronic Man

We can rebuild him. We have the technology... Drier. Hilariouser. More satirical than before.

Creating J.Lyn

Be happy. Be you.

Bites of Life

Turning Spectators of Life into Players of Life!!

kathy rasmussen

the only way to do great work is to love what you do

Someone Like Me...

Better and Better, Day after Day...

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

On the Homefront

Reflections on life: the funny, poignant, serious and quirky

Successify!

Create a Life That Matters!

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

needlesspounds

One man's weight loss journey

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

milkandbreadreport

Just another WordPress.com site

