survivingmiddleage

the ups and downs of life

My Cats ARE Like Kids

There are some people who want to believe I am the crazy cat lady because I feel my cats have humanistic characteristics. They have either never had cats or never been around them. My cats are like kids. They behave very much like them. I know they’re not human. But let me tell you, they sure can behave a lot like humans!

Both of my cats have distinct personalities. Chloe is independent and self-reliant. She only wants you when she needs something that she can’t get on her own. Chloe is so independent that she doesn’t meow like most cats. No, my cat barks. Yes, you read that right. She barks. It’s this funny meh meh meh sound but it is definitely not meowing. Soleil on the other hand is a clingy, attention-seeking personality. She needs me to love on her constantly to feel loved. She is a “talker” and will meow quite loudly if she is not getting the attention she feels she deserves or needs.

I have been waking up to find my glasses on the floor beside the bed. I thought I was knocking them off in my sleep. I found out this morning that is not the case. The way I found out was the I didn’t jump when Soleil wanted me to and so she meowed by my head for about a minute. When I didn’t stir she moved to the table and she knocked them off. It was as if she was saying, “Ha! I’ll show you!” That didn’t set too well with me, but I did get up. I was awake at that point.

So whether you like cats or not, they are like kids. Their behaviors are quite similar. It may not always be pleasant, but they are cute. And I do love them. And I am not the crazy cat lady! I only have 2 bratty cats and realize I do not really want or need anymore.

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “My Cats ARE Like Kids

  1. I enjoyed reading about your cats. I think they are fascinating creatures. It is so much fun to watch their antics and you are right they are so much like humans. I enjoyed my visit this morning. Have a great day!

    • Thank you! They entertain me daily. The other day I found Chloe hanging on to the rock fireplace. So yes, they literally climb the walls. πŸ™‚

  2. I also have two cats and their personalities are very different. Spooky is cuddly and spunky…she wants to be with me at all times, she loves to play and run around. Goldi mostly just wants to be left alone. Every once in a while she wants to be petted or brushed, but she never wants to be held. Like you, I don’t want or need more cats…two is plenty for me.

    • It’s funny that their personalities are so different yet they get along perfectly. And Chloe does love occasionally, just on her terms. She doesn’t want me to know she cares. πŸ™‚ Soleil on the other hand is afraid I will forget she does. πŸ™‚ Your cats sound very similar. Aren’t they precious?

  3. Amy – I love cats and have always had at least one, but never more than two. I used to have one that, if I didn’t get up when she wanted me to, would lick my eyebrows. That always accomplished her purpose! : )

    • I always thought I was a dog person. Then I got these 2. They are more like dogs than I ever imagined and I love them so much. And yeah, Soleil has licked the eyebrows and I hate that. Drives me nuts! I do like when she massages my head, though!

Please leave me a message!

Reflections

Inspiring people to live the life God intended them to live.

Fred's Food For Thought

Eat Well, Live Well

Our Little Family Adventure

Our family's adventure to eat healthy whole foods, get in the kitchen together, and enjoy life.

Hip2Save

Not Your Grandma's Coupon Site

notquiteold

Nancy Roman

The Byronic Man

We can rebuild him. We have the technology... Drier. Hilariouser. More satirical than before.

Creating J.Lyn

Be happy. Be you.

Bites of Life

Turning Spectators of Life into Players of Life!!

kathy rasmussen

the only way to do great work is to love what you do

Someone Like Me...

Better and Better, Day after Day...

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

On the Homefront

Reflections on life: the funny, poignant, serious and quirky

Successify!

Create a Life That Matters!

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

needlesspounds

One man's weight loss journey

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

milkandbreadreport

Just another WordPress.com site

