survivingmiddleage

the ups and downs of life

Fruit Flies

I’ll admit it. I bought bananas last week and forgot about them. Well, I sure remembered them this morning when I saw the fruit flies swarming. How in the world do they get in? Do they come in on the fruit? Am I eating them when I eat the fruit? OMG they are disgusting. I am trying to kill the boogers and they’re zipping past my head as if they’re saying “nanny nanny boo boo, you can’t catch me!” and I’m cursing under my breath. I have 2 helpful cats trying to get them, too. It’s not fun. I had a pan in the sink that I was soaking with soap in it and for some reason they seemed attracted to it. I don’t know if it was the bubbles or the smell of the soap or what. But now I have a bowl of bubbly water sitting on the counter trying to attract and drown those pesky pests. I figured using the bubble method would save on chemicals in the air and be less likely to kill me or the cats.

I hate that i let bananas ruin, but I hate more that these stupid fruit flies are all over the place now. This is ridiculous. I guess I will stick to buying 2-3 bananas at a time from now on!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Fruit Flies

  1. I really don’t know how the fruit flies get in, but they sure do. I buy bananas and don’t use them in a timely manner. What I’ve begun doing is breaking them up and freezing them for smoothies. At least then I don’t feel like I’m wasting money as well as attracting those pesky fruit flies.

  2. I have been swatting like crazy! I put another bowl of soapy water out. They are drawn to that like crazy. I hate spraying bug spray because the smell is so bad and it is so toxic.I am always scared the cats are going to get sick from it, too.

Please leave me a message!

Reflections

Inspiring people to live the life God intended them to live.

Fred's Food For Thought

Eat Well, Live Well

Our Little Family Adventure

Our family's adventure to eat healthy whole foods, get in the kitchen together, and enjoy life.

Hip2Save

Not Your Grandma's Coupon Site

notquiteold

Nancy Roman

The Byronic Man

We can rebuild him. We have the technology... Drier. Hilariouser. More satirical than before.

Creating J.Lyn

Be happy. Be you.

Bites of Life

Balanced Living, Naturally

kathy rasmussen

the only way to do great work is to love what you do

Someone Like Me...

Better and Better, Day after Day...

On the Homefront

Reflections on life: the funny, poignant, serious and quirky

Successify!

Create a Life That Matters!

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

needlesspounds

One man's weight loss journey

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

milkandbreadreport

Just another WordPress.com site

