survivingmiddleage

the ups and downs of life

I heard a sermon on forgiveness

I heard a sermon on forgiveness yesterday on the radio. The preacher was Andy Stanley. I really liked him. He brought up points that most people would bring up. Forgiveness is not just for the person being forgiven, but it is for the person doing the forgiving. But how do you do that? Do you wait until the person who should be forgiven asks for forgiveness? What if they don’t ask? If they don’t ask for forgiveness are you going to keep resentment and anger in your heart?

I think forgiveness is one of the hardest things to do. It is not a natural thing for us. Humans tend to want to keep score and withhold forgiveness. We want things to be fair. Life isn’t fair. It will never be fair. People are always going to hurt others. It’s horrible that this is natural, yet it is. Am I going to stay angry at every person who has ever hurt me? If so, that is a LOT of anger. I don’t want to be filled with that emotion. Yet there are times when I don’t know how to get rid of it. I write. I cry. I scream. I don’t want to be filled with negativity.

Do I wait until someone asks for forgiveness? No. I can’t. There are people who feel they have done nothing wrong and I have to tell myself that I forgive them especially because of that. Obviously they’re clueless as to what they have done or they are heartless. Cluelessness and heartlessness are both things to feel pity for someone. I pity people who are absolutely clueless. I pity heartless people.  They don’t know what true feelings are and that is sad. I may be hurt, but at least I can feel!

So when you are in a situation where you either forgive or not, think about it as getting a monkey off your back. Just because you forgive, it doesn’t mean you forget. And just because you forgive, it doesn’t mean that the other person was right. It just means that you don’t want to live with an ugly emotion in your life. By giving forgiveness you are taking control of your life. It’s not easy. By no stretch of the imagination is it easy. But it does give you peace.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “I heard a sermon on forgiveness

  1. Pingback: We All Have Storms In Our Lives « It Just Dawned On Me

  2. Pingback: Andy Stanley on Prayer « Anchor for the Soul

  3. Saddie on said:

    Thank you for sharing this. Very helpful.

Please leave me a message!

Reflections

Inspiring people to live the life God intended them to live.

Fred's Food For Thought

Eat Well, Live Well

Our Little Family Adventure

Our family's adventure to eat healthy whole foods, get in the kitchen together, and enjoy life.

Hip2Save

Not Your Grandma's Coupon Site

notquiteold

Nancy Roman

The Byronic Man

We can rebuild him. We have the technology... Drier. Hilariouser. More satirical than before.

Creating J.Lyn

Be happy. Be you.

Bites of Life

Turning Spectators of Life into Players of Life!!

kathy rasmussen

the only way to do great work is to love what you do

Someone Like Me...

Stronger and Stronger, Day after Day...

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

On the Homefront

Reflections on life: the funny, poignant, serious and quirky

Successify!

Create a Life That Matters!

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

needlesspounds

One man's weight loss journey

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

milkandbreadreport

Just another WordPress.com site

