survivingmiddleage

the ups and downs of life

What’s the big deal about cupcakes?

OK, I really want to know what’s the big deal about cupcakes? In recent years more and more bakeries specialize in just cupcakes. There’s reality tv shows about them. C’mon! Really? A tv show about a freakin’ cupcake? Were you really that bored?

Cupcakes used to be treats you took to kids’ classrooms for celebrations because they were the same size and uniform and the kids wouldn’t fight over them. They were all the same. No end piece. No special flower. Just a regular old cupcake. Not today. You can get specialty cupcakes custom designed that are all fancy-schmancy.

Guess what! Given the choice between  a civilized piece of cake that I can eat with a fork and not end up wearing and a cupcake that half of it tears away when you pull the paper down, I’m going with civility. Plus I can savor my cake. I’m an adult and need to enjoy things like this when I get them. I don’t want to feel like I have to shove a wad of cake in my mouth because crumbs are making a mess. I don’t want to wonder, “How much frosting did I get on my face?”

And I’m sorry if you like cupcake reality tv shows, but I think there are better things on. Believe me I have tried watching that show. It drove me nuts.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “What’s the big deal about cupcakes?

  1. That’s funny, I was just talking to a girl and her mother last week…they were doing cupcakes for her wedding…well, they weren’t doing them, some bakery was doing them and decorating them all fancy…not sure what the attraction is…another fad, I guess.

  2. Maddie on said:

    I like the cupcakes cause I can have a German chocolate cupcake n a red velvet one or carrot cake… If I buy a whole cake I’m stuck to just one flavor with cupcakes you can get assorted flavors for what everyone likes…

  3. Great insight, Maddie! I hadn’t thought about it that way. 🙂 I was just thinking about how I hate when I start to pull that wrapper off and half my cupcake falls apart. I hate that. I have seen a solution for this, but people rarely use it. Some woman created edible cupcake wrappers. But people still use those paper or aluminum ones.

Please leave me a message!

Reflections

Inspiring people to live the life God intended them to live.

Fred's Food For Thought

Eat Well, Live Well

Our Little Family Adventure

Our family's adventure to eat healthy whole foods, get in the kitchen together, and enjoy life.

Hip2Save

Not Your Grandma's Coupon Site

notquiteold

Nancy Roman

The Byronic Man

We can rebuild him. We have the technology... Drier. Hilariouser. More satirical than before.

Creating J.Lyn

Be happy. Be you.

Bites of Life

Turning Spectators of Life into Players of Life!!

kathy rasmussen

the only way to do great work is to love what you do

Someone Like Me...

Stronger and Stronger, Day after Day...

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

On the Homefront

Reflections on life: the funny, poignant, serious and quirky

Successify!

Create a Life That Matters!

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

needlesspounds

One man's weight loss journey

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

milkandbreadreport

Just another WordPress.com site

