survivingmiddleage

the ups and downs of life

Fruitcake Nostalgia

Fruitcake Slices

Most people have strong feelings about fruitcake. You love it or hate it. I am just not a fan of it. Too much flavor going on in one bite for me. But my Daddy loved it! I mean, he didn’t care if we got a ton of them at Christmas time because he could eat them like crazy! And he was skinny as a rail so it didn’t matter. It used to kill me how that man could eat. It is funny to think back on. He’d start out saying he was just going to eat a little bit. Then there was a little more. Before he knew it, he’d have eaten the majority of it or all of it. (one of those log fruitcakes) This is why we would buy several of them at a time. Daddy also loved that I was a bargain shopper and would find them after Christmas in the “reduced price” area of the store. That way I could buy more.

So I saw fruitcakes today and felt nostalgia hit me hard. I thought of Daddy eating that cake that I despised. Tears filled my eyes. Bittersweet. I smiled and thought about how much he could pack away. I thought about how much I miss Daddy and how long it has been since I have seen him. I think of my parents daily and they are never from my thoughts but some days something just kinda cracks my heart a little.  I have a feeling that the closer it gets to Christmas and my birthday that it will be more pronounced. That is just how it is. But the important aspect is to find that special memory that makes you smile. (I have a song playing in my head as I type this. “Smile though your heart is aching…”)

Single Post Navigation

Please leave me a message!

Fred's Food For Thought

Eat Well, Live Well

Our Little Family Adventure

Our family's adventure to eat healthy whole foods, get in the kitchen together, and enjoy life.

Hip2Save

Not Your Grandma's Coupon Site

notquiteold

Gracefully Aging - With Resistance

The Byronic Man

We can rebuild him. We have the technology... Drier. Hilariouser. More satirical than before.

Creating J.Lyn

Reshaping / redefining my 30+yr old self

Bites of Life

Balanced Living, Naturally

kathy rasmussen

the only way to do great work is to love what you do

Someone Like Me...

Better and Better, Day after Day...

On the Homefront

Reflections on life: the funny, poignant, serious and quirky

Successify!

Personal Success Made Simple

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

Food...cooking...eating....tools - What works, and what doesn't!

needlesspounds

One man's weight loss journey

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

milkandbreadreport

Just another WordPress.com site

bulliednotbroken

Welcome to my story.

The Big Sheep Blog

Where imagination, business and life collide.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 304 other followers

